August 23, 2024 Special Town Board Meeting

The Special Town Board meeting of the Lac du Flambeau Town Board was called to order by Chairman Gaulke at 11:00 a.m. at the Woodruff Town Hall. Supervisor Hanson and Clerk Susan Schoonover were present. Supervisor Cobb was absent.

Others present: Fred Maulson, Christine Montgomery, Renee Engman, Matt Lindborg, Mike Erickson, Elisa Farmilant, Brenda Giannola, John Schaub, Chuck Pollack, Wally Neuman, Ann Neuman, Tom Maulson, Lyle Chapman, Ken Larsen, Macy Washow, Nancy Miller, Michael Horbostel, Frank Zager, John Darling, Anna Ringstad, L Beh, Diane Capem, Allison Harris, David Schwehbel, Joe Fath, Steve Bunda, Jeff & Wendy Weliky, Glen Morrrison, Bob Jackson, Ralph Kerler, Rick Goll, Pam Fabroni, Clements, Barri Klingaman, Jeff Cave, Robert & Nicole Beer, Rick LaRock, Sherry Elms, Tim Biesbauer, John Misina, Gerald H, Ross Yeschek, Scott Harrod, Scott Layeuk, Tom & Lynn Keating, Stacey Sobek, Lynn Sheldon, Jon T, Clark & Susi Albert, John Kunkel, Elaine Orstead, Sharon Lefeber, Steve Lefeber, Jim Prentiss, Dan Lucas, Gary & June Beier, Carol Carani, Rob Swearingen, Greg Lisner, Matt Jankowski, Thomas J Maulson, Jon & Carmen Schmidt, Jerry Jeski, Len & Crystal Roecken, Roger Breeland, Ken & Jutta Frauenhoffer, Dennis Sengstock, Chris & Bill Denniston, Thomas Petri, Jude Awe, Gary Hucks, Chris Hucks, Pat Zimmer, Rachel Pearson, Mike Costello, Amy Ruckes, Rich Carani, Richard Jensen, Vicki Jensen, Deb & Gary Munson, John Dean, Matt Cleary, Bill Shane, Jeff Radtke, Joss & Dave Kievet, Betsy Hottinger, TS, Dedie & Bob Hanson, Gary Bohlia, Dennis Pearson, Jim & Carol Poznisak, Chris Kaufmann, Dan Helfer, Jay Zastrow, Fred Michalik, Mike Clark, Jim & Darlene Gruenke, Jen Baird, Paul Baird, Jim Baird, Karen Baird, Kent & Barb Christensen, Rick & Connie LaFrenier, Carol Smith, Steph & Dean Greenway, John & Julie Spalon, Ann Malone, Chris & Curt Cooper, Jon Erdmann, Jr Stolz, Bruce Peterson, Nancy & Tony Markovich, Catherine Kaiser, Tim & Chris Hauno, Dave & Sandy Miess, Sue Pterson, Laurie Glowac, Ron Glowac, Jeff Lang, Maren Lang, Dianee Parker, Marlene Meyer, Jeff & Jillayne Waite, Don & Carrie Tingwald, Robert Richardson, Jean Rutkowski, Mel & Kay Hoff, Jim Christenson, Ann & Jerry Peters, Patti Rubeck, David Grant, John Bernard, Harvey Graxz, Tim & Julie Walsh, Harvada Elisberg, MM, George Shinners, Mary & Gordie Anderson, Cindy Wakeman, Jim & Brenda Carlson, Cindy Lee, Kay Stellpflug, Joh Stellpflug, Carol Kilger, Denise Goetter, Ron Kampa, Nancy Edwards, Dean & Jan Garvey, Bill McCutchin, Craig Fenrick, Jim Sommerfeldt, Darwin & Dianne Lohse, Mary Hathaway, Bill Olmsted, Claudia Teatmeeir, John Gallo, Bridget Hubing, Doug Holle, Mike & Michelle Nebel, Roberta Gast, Mark & Marie Mejac, Leann & Dale Szydelo, John Resech, Ray & Ellen Frigo, Douglas Etten, Sue & Mike Williams, Tom McDonald, Janice Peckels, Melissa Christensen, Brenda Thompson, Cookie Lougl.

Others present via ZOOM: Chet & Dawn Busse, Jill Gielser, Kim, Greg Pahl, ipad, ipad2, Al Smith, Paul, Kelly Stolz, M, Eric H, Danielle Kaeding, Kelly Wichman, Samsung SM-G990U2, Linda's iphone, iphone 4, Becky's ipad, Emmitt Smith, Stan Johnson, Jim, Martin Krebs, Jenny Wittinger, James Milne, Smith's iphone, Samsung SM-S901U, guest, Dean M, Amanda, Mark Rewey, Frank Vaisvilas, Kathy, Kristin Merizon, Mary Felzkowski, Motorola one 5G ace, Rick Meizon, Rsoda, Samsung SM-911U, William Kane, Keith, Tracey Lust, Doug's iphone, Steve, Laura Zimmer, Sally's iphone, GwenM.

This meeting was properly posted, and the media notified as required by law.

Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Approval of Agenda</u>: Motion by Supervisor Hanson, seconded by Chairman Gaulke to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

<u>Discussion/Possible Action: Ability to Secure Land of Tirbal Choice to Mitigate and End Road Easement</u> <u>Issue:</u> Tom German, Bureau of Public Lands, presented how his role in land management works and his capabilities to facilitate purchase of public lands. Frank Kowalkowski, Town Legal Representative, gave a brief background on how the Town has come to this point. Attorney Greg Harrol added information regarding the 08/12/24 due date for permit payments, the notification from the Tribe to extend the deadline to 08/23/24 and the Tribe's suggestion of a meeting like this during the Town's last meeting with them.

Input from Public Invitee:

Anna Ringstad, Regional Representative for Northwest Wisconsin for Senator Baldwin. Confirms will assist once a concrete agreement has been reached.

Tom Petrie, State Legislative Director, Madison for Senator Ron Johnson. Reports frustration. Has been in contact with Tiffany, Baldwin hoping for a sensible response and combined Federal approach. Reports congressional action is not likely as it is a lengthy and arduous process.

Representative Tom Tiffany. Is willing to support injunctive relief, disappointed with BIA. Clarifies position that IRR roads are public, constructed with public money and cannot legally be barricaded by law. He is hoping for a reasonable agreement that works for taxpayers and all parties involved.

State Assembly Rob Swearingen. Have head from frustrated landowners. Supports conveyance of land based on appraised value. Potential changes in 2025.

State Senator Mary Felzkowski. Has been involved with the Town, landowners and Tribe. Disappointed with Tribal meetings. Has met with the Legislative Council and sees no ability at the state level. Reiterates that a compromise means that everyone does not get what they want. She will be checking into state action available as far as law enforcement regarding future barricades. Mentions ARPA money that the Governor has at his discretion.

Discussion/Possible Action: Continue Road Access Pending Dispute Resolution: Chairman Gaulke reports that with the recent title company payment, permits were issued to 09/12/24.

Motion by Supervisor Hanson, seconded by Chairman Gaulke to adjourn at 11:45 a.m. Motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

S Schoonover

Town Clerk